Handheld
Wild-Places
Lidar place recognition
Paper-era eight-sequence forest place-recognition collection with processed lidar submaps and SLAM-derived poses over fourteen months. Maintained releases revise trajectories and submaps.
Access links
Primary places to inspect, download, read about, or reproduce the dataset.
Quick facts
- Vehicle type
- Handheld
- Environment
- Outdoor
- Data origin
- Real-world
- Sensor count
- 1
- Ground truth
- Available
- Calibration
- Not reported
- Annotations
- Not reported
Sensor overview
High-level sensor availability before the detailed sensor records below.
Ground truth
Reference scope, method, rate, coverage, and provenance.
| Scope | Method | Reference system | Count | Rate | Coverage |
Reference provenance
|
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6DoF | LiDAR SLAM | Not reported | Not reported | 2 Hz | Full |
Reference provenance
Derived
|
|
||||||
Calibration and synchronization
Reported calibration level, reproducibility signals, and supporting notes.
- Level
- Not reported
- Processed parameters
- Not reported
- Raw calibration data
- Not reported
- Calibration targets
- Not reported
Calibration data
Calibration reproducibility details are not reported.
Notes
Not reportedKnown or intentional limitations
Reported constraints and characteristics to check before using the dataset.
Reference poses are SLAM-derived; no independent per-pose accuracy guarantee is established.
Reverse revisits, dense repetitive vegetation and long-term environmental change challenge place recognition.
Water or mud can yield no lidar returns in illustrated scenes.
Figure 7 query-sequence descriptions conflict; aggregate length and duration also disagree with the sequence rows.
The eight-sequence count describes the analysed paper collection. Maintained v2 omitted K-04; v3 (November 2025) revises trajectories/submaps, adds intensity and changes file structure. Current archive counts are not established here.
The official project page reports a different aggregate distance and approximate submap count from the paper. Aggregate trajectory length and duration remain unknown.
The CSIRO download portal requires JavaScript; bulk files were not inspected.
Cameras
IMUs
GNSS
LiDAR
VLP-16
- Model or name
- VLP-16
- Count
- 1
- Dimensions
- 3
- Rate
- Not reported
- Channels
- 16
- Range
- 120 m
Radar
Additional sensors
Annotations
Reported annotation availability and task support.
- Availability
- Not reported
- Format
- Not reported
- Class count
- Not reported
Citation
Citation key and BibTeX kept at the end of the page for reference.
@misc{knights2023wildplacesv3,
title={Wild-Places: A Large-Scale Dataset for Lidar Place Recognition in Unstructured Natural Environments},
author={Knights, Joshua and Vidanapathirana, Kavisha and Ramezani, Milad and Sridharan, Sridha and Fookes, Clinton and Moghadam, Peyman},
year={2023},
eprint={2211.12732},
archivePrefix={arXiv},
primaryClass={cs.RO},
url={https://arxiv.org/abs/2211.12732v3},
note={Analyzed arXiv version 3, dated 2 March 2023}
}
Dataset corrections
Notice a specific issue after reviewing the page?
Report an inaccuracy