Other

RCT

Tactile generalization

Robot-collected touch–vision–language data with 29,279 tactile frames from three DIGIT sensors pressing 122 industrial reference materials, paired with force, material photographs, descriptors and controlled held-out splits.

Metadata: Partial Metadata needs review

Quick facts

Vehicle type
Other
Environment
Not reported
Data origin
Real-world
Sensor count
3
Ground truth
Not reported
Calibration
Not reported
Annotations
Available

Sensor overview

High-level sensor availability before the detailed sensor records below.

Ground truth

Reference scope, method, rate, coverage, and provenance.

Not reported

Calibration and synchronization

Reported calibration level, reproducibility signals, and supporting notes.

Level
Not reported
Processed parameters
Not reported
Raw calibration data
Not reported
Calibration targets
Not reported

Calibration data

Calibration reproducibility details are not reported.

Notes

Not reported

Known or intentional limitations

Reported constraints and characteristics to check before using the dataset.

Controlled reference-material presses do not cover arbitrary object geometries, curved surfaces or dynamic exploratory motions.

One photograph and descriptor set supervise each material; there are no pose-conditioned visual targets or frame-specific tactile captions.

Contact-position coverage is imbalanced; position 5 covers 75 of 122 materials and later positions are progressively sparse.

Material images have multiple valid tactile positives; strict sample-level diagonal retrieval is inappropriate.

A material-ID mismatch limited historical diverse-selection training to 121 of 122 materials; the paper states released metadata are corrected and held-out test coverage is unaffected.

Cameras

digit-tactile

Model
DIGIT
Setup
Not Reported
Count
3
Effective cameras
3
Modality
Other
Resolution
Not reported
Rate
Not reported
Shutter
Not Reported
Lens type
Not Reported
HFOV
Not reported
VFOV
Not reported
Notes
Optical tactile frames from three DIGIT instances used in turn by a rotating robot-arm adapter. Each press typically gives 15–17 frames at 0.10 mm indentation steps. The 2048 × 1536 material photographs are separate material-level supervision; their resolution does not describe DIGIT frames.

IMUs

Not reported

GNSS

Not reported

LiDAR

Not reported

Radar

Not reported

Pitot tube

Not reported

Additional sensors

Other sensor

Name
Contact-force measurement
Count
1
Notes
Force signals are released and contact force is recorded for each tactile frame; apparatus identity, number of sensing elements and time-based sampling rate are not established.

Annotations

Reported annotation availability and task support.

Availability
Available
Format
Not reported
Class count
Not reported
Semantic segmentation Not reported
Instance segmentation Not reported
Object detection Not reported
Optical flow Not reported
Depth ground truth Not reported

Citation

Citation key and BibTeX kept at the end of the page for reference.

Citation key
he2026rct

BibTeX

@misc{he2026rct,
  title={RCT: A Robot-Collected Touch–Vision–Language Dataset for Tactile Generalization},
  author={He, Jingbo and Färber, Michael and Calandra, Roberto},
  year={2026},
  eprint={2606.31694},
  archivePrefix={arXiv},
  primaryClass={cs.RO},
  url={https://arxiv.org/abs/2606.31694v1}
}

Dataset corrections

Notice a specific issue after reviewing the page?

Report an inaccuracy